And a Decision Has Been Made!

Remember that BIG DECISION I needed to make? Well I agonized. I made pro/con lists. Lost lots of sleep. Made one decision for a few days, then changed my mind. Then AGAIN. How do you choose between two radically, fundamentally different lifestyles?

And then I realized that the two “choices” don’t need to be separate, but rather can all be part of a greater plan for my thirties.

So which path did I choose?

Fall 2015 I will be one of the first deans at a new middle and high school opening here in Oklahoma City! This ultimately was the best choice for me AND my family because:

  • We love living in this city, we love the revitalization taking places, and we want to be part of a greater plan to renew and re-imagine OKC. This school will be city-centered and focused on helping students to be agents of change in their own community. We’ll rewrite the unspoken social code that says bigger, better, and more should come above other people.
  • Every career move I’ve made that, while at the time perhaps didn’t make sense, has culminated in this job. I’ll have a chance to combine all of my interests: teaching, management, curriculum development, finances, and mentoring, and heck, even minimalism is part of this greater vision.
  • This job move gives me the chance to change education in my own community. Rather than complaining or worrying about it, I can actually (and hopefully) make a change that will not only impact my own children, but those in my local community. Scary? Yes. But totally worth it? Without a doubt.
  • The best part of this all? This is truly a family endeavor and my husband and girls will all have a role. My girls will be welcome to spend time with me at “work,” while the hubs will help with vision and planning. I’ve put in some serious negotiation to make sure that I won’t be gone from my family too much and some of my work will be completed at home. Starting a school is no small undertaking, but with the support of my family and friends, I am fairly confident I can balance it all. And if not? See below…

So what’s the long term plan?

It’s hard to completely say right now, but I envision spending a few years starting and working at the school. We’ll re-evaluate our priorities each year to make sure it is still a good fit for our family. And when the time is right, we will take off a year or two to travel the US in an Airstream. That is still one of our larger, long-term goals. But taking this job opportunity will mean leaving no path untried before fully committing to a more nomadic lifestyle.

So now that the decision is made, guess who is finally sleeping again?

One thought on “And a Decision Has Been Made!

  1. Pingback: The Freedom in Saying No | The Streamlined Life

Leave a Reply

